Feature Image

Round 1 of the Limerick Senior Football Championship

June 26, 2024 743 Views

Limerick Senior Football Championship – Round 1 Vs Mungret St. Pauls

The senior footballer’s championship campaign commences this week with a tough fixture against our neighbours Mungret in Claughaun on Friday night. The team has had mixed fortunes during the season to date, playing some excellent football but also being very unlucky in the injury department.

Evan O’Brien unfortunately suffered a season ending ACL injury early in the season and we wish him the very best of luck with his operation this week and the rehab to follow. Evan has been a huge part of the group for the last number of years and will be a big loss. The retirement of Kevin Nolan and Kieran Daly from football is also a big loss for the club. Both have been excellent servants to Na Piarsaigh for many years. We wish them the very best in their retirement and thank them for all that they have done for the club. These omissions however open up spaces for new and exciting talent.

A shot from our league opener at home to Oola. L-R: Christy O'Hagan, Dean McLoughlin, James Linnane, Ronan Houlihan & Darragh Jordan.

The underage academy Is doing a great job in preparing players and it's a credit to all the coaches and managers to see such good young footballers coming through the ranks and hopefully playing senior this year.

We'd love to see as many club supporters up in Claughaun on Friday night cheering on the team. This year’s team is captained by Evan Sweeney with Evan Egan as vice-captain. We would again like to thank Utility Trust and it's CEO James Fleming for their continued support and sponsorship of the senior football team in the club.

The above piece was compiled by our senior football manager Micheál Lynch. As a club, we would like to wish Micheál, his management team, and the players the very best for the championship.

Dylan on the attack in the opening round of the league against Oola.

Our captain Evan Sweeney was interviewed at the championship launch during the week. Evan recognised the introduction of new young talent to senior setup in Na Piarsaigh this year. You can catch the interview here. In addition to the new young talent coming on board, we also have the welcome return of veteran Conor McLoughlin. Conor having spent the last 2 seasons playing with Templeogue Synge Street in the Dublin Senior Football Championship.

Our senior footballers take on Mungret in the first round of the senior championship on Friday night, throwing in at 7.30 in Claughaun. Tickets can be purchased here.

Foireann: 1. Eoghain Sherlock 2. Ralph Leonard 3. Jack McCarthy 4. Christy O’Hagan 5. Fionn O’Tiarnaigh 6. Conor McLoughlin 7. Rueben McCarthy 8. Gordan Brown 9. Ronan Houlihan 10. Adam Jordan 11. Evan Egan 12. Darragh Jordan 13. Tommy Glynn 14. Evan Sweeney 15. Dylan Cronin

Fir ionaid: 16. Evan Condon 17. James Linnane 18. Tom McKeon 19. Diarmuid Ryan 20. Louis Murphy 21. Dean McLoughlin 22. Cian Harrington 23. Cathal McMullan 24. Matt Walsh 25. Jamie Wilson 26. Peter Hodnett 27. Aaron Rush 28. Stanley Dike 29. Adam Hallihan 30. Conor Killian 31. Ruaidhrí O’Connell 32. Shane Walsh 33. Jack Barry 34. Ian Leonard

Bainistíocht: Micheál Lynch (Bainisteoir) James Fleming (Coach), Killian Biddy (S&C), Ciaran McHugh, Leonard Durac, David O’Connell (Selectors) Amy O’Mahony (Physio) Lavinia Duggan (Secretary)

The squad that lined out against Monaleen in the league back in April.